For Mother’s Day…

My Mom asked me for a painting for Mother’s Day.  She asked for a snow scene but it is Spring time and I just can’t do it.  So I decided to give negative painting another try.  I drew three apples and a few branches being careful to make sure that I left plenty of empty space between them.  I first wash the background with three colors: Raw Sienna, Pthalo Blue, and Permament Sap Green.  I kept using these three colors for each layer of color I added to the picture.  Between each layer of color, I drew in more leaves and branches and painted around them.  In this way the background color becomes the color of the leaves and branches of that layer.  This has a nice effect.

The Forbidden Fruit

Leave a Reply

