On My Birthday

My birthday landed on a Saturday this year.  I am now 46.  I took the whole day off and practiced my latest hobby! 

More Flowers

This is an example of negative painting.  I’m not really happy with how this turned out.  I really like the bottom right flower but the top right doesn’t look very good.and the bottom left didn’t turn out the way I hoped. I think that this picture would be improved by making the background colors more homogenous.  Too many variations become a distraction.

 

Passing Storm

On my birthday, Tammy gave me the book “The Complete Watercolorist’s Essential Notebook” and I saw a painting like the one above so I tried it.  I really like the author’s style.  His name is Gordon MacKenzie.  I don’t like the sky here.  And I wasn’t completely pleased with the sun dapples on the water, but it is a start.

Leave a Reply

